Top & Tails

I have a confession to make. I’m addicted to nail polish. I honestly can’t remember the last time I had bare fingernails since I was about 16. If it’s happened in the past 8 years I can promise you I was having a very bad week and may have even been seriously depressed. I promise I’m not high maintenance at all 😉

Anyways, I love having beautifully perfect shaped and painted nails. It doesn’t matter to me if they’re long (I’ve been blessed with nails that will grow out as long and strong as most fake nails…I promise you it’s because I only use traditional polishes) or short, bright or dark. The only thing that will get me down when it comes to polish is chips.

Believe me, there is nothing worse (in terms of hands, obviously) than chipped nail polish…okay maybe callouses, but I’ll explain my addiction to hand creme in a later post. It ruins your entire look. I’m assuming that by painting your nails in the first place you were trying to look pulled-together, polished (ha! how pun-y!), and like you actually tried to look your best. So why would you ruin the whole illusion – let’s be honest, that’s what it is, nobody can be all those things on a regular basis – by allowing your polish to be seen chipped.

Now, things do happen and a single chip that happened that day is nothing to freak out about. But I can’t understand why any self-respecting woman would walk around with her nail polish peeling off. We have to defend ourself against mediocrity ladies! (haha, it’s sad that I’m dead serious…but hey there’s no room for an average woman in this world, and until that changes I’m not letting anything slip through the cracks!) And the best defense is always a good offense…

Enter, Butter London’s Patent-Gel Top & Tails. Containing both a base and a top coat, it’s high shine and high protection. The 3-free formulas keep your manicure intact and on point. I was once able to go two whole weeks without a single chip and then only had to change my polish because my nails had grown out enough that there was bare nail showing. Seriously, this is a holy grail duo. I’ll be honest, the top coat isn’t my favorite, – it’s a bit on the thin side and took a lot for me to feel like I had a decent coverage. Plus it started thickening after a few months and I had to throw it away before I was more than halfway through the basecoat– but the basecoat is the best I’ve ever used. None of the bright red and dark black polishes I used stained my nails, and they even seemed to be in better condition after a month’s worth of use. I currently use it under a different top coat and it still works fabulously.

Oh, did I mention that it takes only about 5 minutes (seriously!) to dry? So no more waiting for an hour before getting back to your life. This duo is quick, effective, and worth every penny.

Now tell me, how do you prevent chipped nails? Or do you even think it’s a big deal? Am I totally insane in focusing so much on my manicure? Is there another product that works better? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

