Smooth Velvet

Some foundations are worth splurging on. I was looking for a new formal foundation to wear to parties and other special events when I discovered Chanel’s Perfection Lumière Velvet Smooth-Effect Makeup. Not only did I use it for my most recent appearance as a bridesmaid (which you can read about here), but it’s quickly become a stable in my collection. When I say I’ve found the holy grail, I mean it – THIS IS THE HOLY GRAIL OF FOUNDATIONS.

It is full coverage (I don’t even have to use concealer with it, even when I’m broken out) and has a truly velvet finish. It’s matte but in a natural looking way. In truth it looks like I’m not wearing makeup but instead managed to photoshop my face. Unlike most full coverage foundations it’s weightless. Since it’s water-based it smooths into your skin easily and doesn’t clog pores. It’s also super build-able. I’ll apply it with a beautyblender if I’m having a rosacea flare up, but really prefer how it looks when I apply it with my fingertips. If I’m going to be photographed or taped I’ll do two coats, but one is good for most outings. I originally bought it for formal occasions, but it’s my go to for travel and workdays. I cannot sing the praises of this foundation enough!

Leave a Reply

