Highbrow

I spend a lot of time looking at magazines…okay, I spend a lot of time comparing my face to the faces of the models, actresses, celebrities, and generally beautiful people pictured in magazines. Let’s be real, there is NO way they can look like that in everyday life.

Anyways, back to the topic at hand. One thing I always noticed when comparing my photos to theirs was that my eyes seemed droopy. Now, I’m only 24 years old, so I refuse to admit that this is a sign of aging. (It isn’t, I’ll explain if you bear with me.) But something about the makeup that the models wore make them look wide awake. After a lot of sleuthing, I realized it was a subtle light under their brows.

Now, most everyone who’s ever taken a makeup class knows that you apply a light, sometimes shimmery shade of eye shadow under your brow bone as a highlight. What most people don’t tell you is that this should be a cream shadow. Enter stage left: Benefit High Brow in Linen Pink.

I came across this pencil brow-lifter in Ulta one day. Since it happened to be on sale I snapped it up to satisfy my curiosity. I brought it home, drew a line of it under each eyebrow and gulped – it was a VERY light totally opaque pink. I didn’t think I’d ever be able to blend it enough to look natural. But when I rubbed a finger over the line, it blended easily and seamlessly into my skin. I stepped back from the mirror and knew immediately I’d found the holy grail of eye makeup products. I looked like the girls in the magazines!

I’ve used it every day since in a wide variety of looks. It’s great to wear alone with some eyeliner and mascara for a casual no-makeup look, and it also transitions to glam evening looks with a lot more va-va-voom. Go buy it. NOW! I’m serious…it’s THAT good.

Leave a Reply

