Style Lab

I buy products because of their packaging all the time. I like when things look like they’re curated when they sit on the shelves in my apartment, and I don’t want to have to keep everything hidden in drawers. That’s why when Living Proof debuted their styling collection, I got really excited. Not only is the packaging gorgeous, but the brand itself is recognized for having some of the most incredible products around! (PHD anyone?) If these will give me Jennifer Anniston’s hair, I’m all in!

I decided to pick up some smaller items from my local Ulta. I don’t purchase products just because they’re pretty, they have to work too. So I didn’t want to invest a substantial portion of my money into something unless I knew it was going to work. I was excited to discover the Style Lab Travel Kit because it allowed me to try four of the products I was interested in for a very reasonable price.

The kit itself includes a hairspray, after shower prep treatment, texturizer, and oil. Since these are pretty much the products I use every day I thought it would be a good way to get my feet wet.

2015-11-11 21.57.41

The Prime Style Extender did most of what was advertised. While I don’t think it made my style last longer (my hair still got greasy by the end of the day) it did prevent it from frizzing up in humidity, and made styling a whole lot faster.

The Flex Shaping Hairspray was probably my favorite of the products. It smelled vaugely like Play-Dough (in a good way suprisingly) and had a hold similar to L’Oreal Elnett where it still moves as you go through your day. Best of all, it didn’t make my hair crunchy.

The Amp Instant Texture Volumizer was another one of my favorites. I’m a huge fan of aeresol texturizing sprays, but they dry out and damage my hair after a while. This gave a similar texturizing effect, but kept my strands healthy feeling. It also didn’t dull the hair like most of the sprays do. I’m all about shine, so this was a win in my book.

My least favorite product was the Satin Hair Serum. While it did everything advertised, it made my hair a bit too greasy and also caused it to lose volume. I think it would be good on someone with thicker, dryer hair, but it was a bit too much for me.

All in all, I’d definitely recommend the style lab kit for anyone wanting to try out some Living Proof products. I’ll for sure be buying the full size volumizer and the hairspray!

Leave a Reply

