Good Hair Day

Straighteners come in a ton of different varieties. There are traditional straighteners, ceramic straighteners, travel straighteners, straighteners that curl, etc., etc. I could go on for days. When it’s comes to shopping for a straightener, it’s easy to get overwhelmed.

My last professional-grade straightener was a Chi. It worked well enough on my naturally wavy-but-slippery hair. Unfortunately it got fried when I went on a study abroad in Ireland.

After surviving on braids and updos for weeks I got home and purchased the best I could afford as a broke college student, a Remmington Pearl Ceramic 1″ Flat Iron. With a 50% off coupon it was only $12, and while it worked fine for the next few years you really do get what you pay for.

When Christmas came around this past year I knew it was beyond time to ask for a new straightener. There’s not much difference in funds when you’re in college and when you’re new to the work force. Even though I had a job, I wasn’t making enough to be able to buy a quality straightener. So I sucked it up and insisted to my parents that it was all I wanted for Christmas. (Which was the truth.)

When I opened my Karmin G3 Salon Pro I was ridiculously excited. It was black, and shiny, and came with a travel case and protective mat. When I used it I was amazed at how well it worked. It ran smoothly through my hair without snagging and one pass was enough to get things stick straight. Curling was just as easy once I mastered the wrist twist required, and my hair has never looked better.

The following week I kept getting compliments on my hair. I hadn’t had a cut or changed products so I know it was the Karmin that made all the difference. Can you honestly say that about any other straightener you’ve tried?

2015-12-30 15.19.02

Leave a Reply

