An Apple A Day

One of my New Years Resolutions was to get healthier. I am sure a lot of you are in the same boat. I was very active in High School, dancing up to 19 hours a week and sometimes more. When I went to college I found that my activity level slowly diminished as I stopped ballet, but my eating habits didn’t shift accordingly.

The years of late night pizza runs, and drunk munchies definitely took their toll on my body. When I graduated last year I had gained about 30lbs from my High School graduation weight. Yikes!

While last year I focused more on settling into adult life, this year’s focus is more on developing healthy habits and getting back to a point where I’m comfortable with my body. That’s why I bought myself an Apple Watch. It tracks your heart rate to explain exactly how many calories you burn each day, so that you can adjust your diet and activities accordingly.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The watch itself hasn’t really helped me lose weight per say, but it has made me much more aware of my habits. The first week I owned it I went about my normal routine to set a base standard for myself. What I discovered was that I really wasn’t moving AT ALL! No bueno.

Over the past month I have made it a goal to hit all of the pre-set activity goals that come loaded on the watch. The way Apple tracks your activity consists of filling three different rings of color – one for movement, one for exercise, and one for standing. In the past month I’ve gone from filling these rings about 25% to fully filling them most days. (The hardest one for me is the stand ring.)

I’ve also synced up some other health and wellness apps to the watch, including MyFitnessPal. Now that I’m tracking both calories consumes and burned, I am much more aware of what habits I need to change in order to get the lifestyle and body I want. So far I’ve lost about 5lbs. and my goal is to get close to 25 more by New Year’s 2017. I’m confident that the watch will help me to stay motivated to achieve these goals.

So, do you have any fitness/wellness goals for 2016? Now is about the time most people fall off the bandwagon and need an extra push to keep on track. Post your goals here and check in periodically to let us all know how you’re doing. I’d love to hear tips on how you hold yourself accountable as the year progresses, as well as your stories. Hopefully 2016 will be a healthier year for all of us!

2 thoughts on “An Apple A Day

Leave a Reply

