The Essential Bag

There are certain items that every woman NEEDS in her closet. One of those is a high quality, versatile leather bag. It should be made of real leather, come in a neutral color (AKA black or tan…or have one of each if you can), and be the proper size and shape to carry you from Saturday shopping trips to evening cocktail parties.

I’ll be the first to admit that there aren’t a lot of bags that can check all of those boxes. (I still have yet to find a tan leather one.) That’s why, when I saw the perfect little black bag sitting demurely on the shelf at Banana Republic I grabbed it and refused to leave the store without it. It didn’t matter that I was in a rush to pick up my parents, whose car had gotten a flat tire as they were coming home from the grocery store. It didn’t matter that my friends were already walking out of the store. All that mattered in that brief moment was that this little bag was mine!

The Italian Leather Chain Bag may not have a designer label or be named after some stick thin society girl, but that’s part of why I love it. Instead of noticing the label, people will notice that I have great taste. Because who wants to be known for having the latest and greatest thing named for someone else? I personally believe that the only person wearing a bag named for a celebrity, should be the celebrity herself.

Therefore, I now dub my little purse The Stefani!

The pebbled leather finish makes it appropriate for daytime, and the chunky gold chain adds a bit of bling when heading out on the town. Plus, the chain can be tucked into the bag when I want a simple envelope clutch. It can easily fit everything I want to carry, which is a lot to say when most small bags can’t even fit a lipgloss and my phone without straining to close. This can fit all of my necessary card in its building packets, along with a compact, perfume, sunglasses, and even foundation! Really It can fit everything you need and then some.

It’s versatile, elegant, understated, and has a fun edge with it’s triangular shape. Best of all, it didn’t cost an arm and a leg, although in that moment I likely would have paid far more. But what can I say? It spoke to me 😉

2 thoughts on “The Essential Bag

Leave a Reply

