Bye Bye Chicken Skin

White girl rash, chicken skin, KP…whatever you like to call it, those little red bumps on the back of your arms are annoying as hell. I’ve had them all my life, and for as long as I can remember I’ve picked at them. I used to hate how scabbed and swollen my arms would get, but I couldn’t stop. I’d sit for hours picking at the bumps until they bled. I’m still not sure why. Now, I know I’m not the only one who does this…one of my friends in high school was just as bad as me about picking, and I have countless sorority sisters who will tell you about their trouble with those relentless red bumps.

I tried everything imaginable to get them to go away – medicated creams from my doctor, every single moisturizer in the drugstore, getting more sun, staying out of the sun, bathing in coconut oil, exfoliating with scrubs and loofas, exfoliating with a pumice stone (seriously, don’t try that…my arms were in pain for weeks and it didn’t make things better). I even went through a phase where I’d snap a rubber band on my wrist every time I caught myself picking…which only led to welts on my wrist. In short, I know your pain. I’ve been there, tried everything and given up more times than I can count.

All of this is to say, I was SHOCKED when I found a routine that worked.

Did you hear that? I FOUND A CURE!

It wasn’t a single product, or an excessive amount of prayer. The process took discipline, and took a few weeks to fully work. Oh, and you have to continue the routine, but I seriously don’t worry about the bumps on my arms anymore because there are only a few left to be seen.

So, I bet you’re dying to know what the deal is? Well, it’s a three(-ish) step process that’s spread out over the course of a day, to be repeated every day. EVERY SINGLE DAY. (It’s worth it, I promise.) Here’s the routine:

  1. In the morning, after you shower (yes, you do need to shower in the morning for this…you’ll see why in step 2), apply AmLactin’s Alpha Hydroxy Therapy Moisturizing Body Lotion. It’s expensive, and it will sting when you first apply it, especially if you have freshly picked at your skin. It’s available at Costco in bulk sizes (I suggest buying it here), occasionally at Walmart, and online at Amazon. Make sure you buy the green variety, as the others don’t do anything at all…I’ve tried haha.
  2. Run a bath at the end of the day and pour in 1/4 of a cup of sea salt. I use Morton’s because it’s cheap but any brand will work. Just be sure it’s SEA salt, not epsom salt, table salt, or any other type of salt – SEA SALT. Soak in the bath for 20-30 minutes. Now, I don’t recommend this just because Cleopatra is known to have done the same (but maybe that’s why she had smooth arms), but because taking regular salt baths has been proven to cure a variety of skin conditions from psoriasis to eczema (plus it also helps insomnia – hence why you should do it at night) by improving the functionality of your skin’s moisture barriers.
  3. The final step occurs after you get out of the salt bath. Gently towel dry your skin, and immediately apply an essential oil blend consisting of 3 drops of tea tree oil, 3 drops of lemon oil, and 3 drops of lavender oil mixed into 1 tsp of fractionated coconut oil. My personal preference is to use DoTerra oils, but that’s mainly because my mom sells them (the link is to her site). I make a mix ahead of time that I store in a rollerball so that I can apply only what I need – it only takes a thin layer of the blend. They do have quite a smell, although it’s not unpleasant, so I recommend doing the bath and oil points in this process at night.

After following this routine for three weeks now I am happy to report that my arms are clearer than they have ever been – and there’s nothing tempting me to pick. What more can you ask for?

Have you been able to cure your chicken skin? Let me know your tips/tricks by leaving a comment!

Leave a Reply

