A Balm I Borrowed From the Boys

I’m no stranger to borrowing from the boys. There was that time I discovered that men’s razors work better for shaving my legs than the women’s ones (read about it here.) Then there was that time I realized that one particular men’s aftershave product will get rid of bumps around my bikini line (this post has all the life-changing info about that particular discovery.) Oh, and my favorite tee shirts are definitely found in the men’s section – they’re super soft and can be found here. But I never thought I’d ever actually venture into the men’s section of Sephora. That just seemed like it was going a bit too far, even for me.

I received a sample of Jack Black’s Intense Therapy Lip Balm with SPF and it was magical. At first I was a bit put off by the fact that it was a lip balm for men. Do men even use lip balm? I’d never before considered it. It was new territory for me and I approached with caution.

Well, it turns out that men actually know a thing or two when it comes to lip products. This balm is packed with skin conditioners and emollients that seep into your lips quickly without leaving a waxy residue. It also doesn’t make your lips glossy in the way that most women’s lip balms to, but instead leaves them looking nicely plump and healthy. It also amazing at soothing windburned lips (a day out on the boat without chapstick got the better of me) and the fact that it contains SPF makes it perfect for beach days. I personally like to apply it in a thick layer before I go to bed so that I wake up ready for a pop of lip color. It creates the best foundation for lipstick that I’ve ever seen. So, I suppose the boys know a thing or two about beauty after all.

What are your favorite beauty products that you borrow from the boys? Leave a comment and let me know!

One thought on “A Balm I Borrowed From the Boys

Leave a Reply

