Aztec Secret

I try to avoid jumping on bandwagons. I tend to find that products with a cult following never really work out for me, and that runaway opinions can end up causing more harm than good. As a rule, I’m skeptical of anything that sounds too good to be true. However, every so often I hear about something enough that I decide I have to try it in order to form my own opinion. That was the case with Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay.

2016-05-01 17.25.08.jpg

This miracle product is touted as the “World’s Most Powerful Facial” and used by everyone from natural wellness gurus to Victoria’s Secret Models. At just under $10/lb it seemed like something I should try, just to satisfy my curiosity. So I went ahead and ordered a jar of the 100% natural calcium bentonite clay powder thinking that I’d test it out.

The results, for me, were a bit of a mixed bag. First, the preparation is time intensive. You have to spoon out a bit of the powder, and mix it with water until it forms a paste. No matter how hard I tried I couldn’t keep it from getting lumpy and it was a major mess. I did eventually manage to get a thin layer spread across my face and waited for it to dry as I sat down to watch Game of Thrones. It was about 5 minutes into the 15 minute drying time when I noticed a burning sensation around my jaw and hairline. Now, the jar says to expect tingling and pulsating, so I ignored it thinking I would get used to it. It didn’t. 

2016-05-01 17.26.08.jpg

I personally don’t believe that skincare should ever be painful – any pain means the ingredients you’re using are too harsh and could cause more harm than good. After about 7 minutes of burning – talk about a Powerful facial – I couldn’t take it anymore and headed to the bathroom to rinse the whole thing off. I went through the rest of my skincare routine (toning, moisturizing, etc.) and hoped that the redness around the periphery of my face would calm down quickly. Thankfully it did. By the time I went to bed my skin was back to normal, no permanent side effects. Plus, I noticed that the deep blackheads that constantly surround my nose had been cleared out. So, maybe the mask hadn’t been all bad.

When I woke up the next morning the blackheads were still gone and the rest of my skin had settled down nicely. So overall, it was not a wasted purchase. In my opinion this is not the “miracle mask” that everyone says it is, but it is a fantastic spot treatment. I’ll be continuing to use it around my nose, and may even venture far enough to use it in a sort of mud bath concoction, but under no circumstances will it ever be applied all over my face again. Overall, I’d give it a solid 3 stars.

Have you tried Aztec Secret or another type of Calcium Bentonite Clay? What was your experience? Do you have any suggestions on other ways I could put it to use? Leave me a comment (go to the top of the post and click on Leave A Comment right by the date and posts categories) and let me know!

3 thoughts on “Aztec Secret

  1. I honestly think it depends on how sensitive your skin is! When I was on a prescription topical acne cream I used the Aztec clay mask and my face literally felt like it was on fire so I took it off after 2 minutes. I started using it again once my skin was stronger and not as sensitive and it really did make a difference. It’s definitely not a mask for every day use though! I now use it maybe once a month. Great post xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

