Shine On, Sugar!

I’m pretty picky about my hair. There is a particular way it should feel, lay, and behave and I just won’t accept anything less than perfect from it. While I have a whole arsenal of products that I use to keep it on point, the two most important of them are shampoo and conditioner. They form the base of my product pyramid, and if my base is off there’s no hope of a good hair day. I was recently in need of a new shampoo and conditioning system. Summer comes with humidity and sweat which make my hair flat and frizzy – not a good look. So I ventured into my local Ulta looking for a product that would add both volume and shine without adding to the mess. I ended up picking out Matrix’s Biolage Sugar Shine Shampoo & Conditioner. The silicone free system claimed to give 48 hours of shine with deep cleaning and softening. I’ve been using it for about a month now and have to say, it ain’t bad. It’s not the best shampoo I’ve ever used, or one I’ll repurchase in the future, but it did well enough. The shampoo was excellent and my hair could go a day or two between washing while still looking healthy and shiny. The conditioner however lacked oomph. My hair became dry after a while and was very hard to comb out while wet. So, while I wouldn’t say the system was a total flop, it wasn’t worth a full on hair flip 😉

Do you have any recommendations for products I could try instead? I’d love to hear them! Leave me a comment with all the details!

Leave a Reply

